Tuesday, January 17, 2006

Looking Back at Fall Events III: NJ Historical Commission Honors Magoun

On Saturday, November 19, 2005, the New Jersey Historical Commission held its 28th annual awards ceremony in conjunction with its history conference at the Trenton War Memorial. Among the ten honorees on this occasion was Dr. Alexander B. Magoun, executive director of the David Sarnoff Library. One of four individual honorees, Alex received his Award of Recognition before 150 members of New Jersey's historical community, including Library board member Dr. Robert Bartolini.

The Commission's citation read as follows:

"Alexander Magoun, Princeton, is recognized for his sterling efforts to establish the library as a professionally run archive that documents innovation in science and engineering. It contains the largest collection of RCA materials in the state, documenting David Sarnoff's career and RCA's work in television, electron microscopy, transistors, computers, and video cameras. Mr. Magoun has rehoused this large collection in archivally appropriate containers and developed an array of services that draw on the rich materials within. These include response by email or phone to research inquiries, hosting researchers on subjects related to technology, the establishment of a popular website, the formation of partnerships with other organizations, public events and presentations--such as Hands-On Radio History and the Color Television Golden Anniversary Event, and tours for students and adults. Alexander Magoun holds a B.A. in history from Trinity College in Hartford, an M.A. from the University of East Anglia, and a Ph.D. in history from the University of Maryland."

Alex in action, speaking on a favorite topic before 250 New Jerseyans at the Archives and History Day event at Monmouth County Library on October 15, 2005.

Alex with some of the members of the board of the Library after their meeting 0n November 28, 2005. From left to right: Dr. Robert Bartolini, Dr. Paul Israel, Arthur Sarnoff, Jeffrey Sarnoff, Rosita Sarnoff, Jinny Baeckler, and Alexander Magoun.

No comments: